Bellows Camera in the Snow

With the sun out and the roads passable, I ventured up onto the top of the Mendip Hills with the Thornton Pickard and some film cartridges loaded with Photopaper as paper-negatives. I also loaded the VW Campervan with the darkroom chemicals, trays and red-light so I could process on site to check exposure. This proved vital as the first set of images – though at maximum aperture of F8 were still underexposed with the shutter operating at 1/30s and the paper’s ISO equivalent of 6.

So I went to the other end of the F scale – 64. this gave an exposure time of 4s – long enough to cover minor discrepancies in my manual timing. These shots were much better exposed, though the paper negatives – having been loaded in the not-so-light-tight van were a bit fogged in places.

I am pleased with the results – here are scans of the contact prints made from the paper negatives. Some images show a curved shadow at the bottom – a problem with the bellows sagging caused this. I lifted the lens mount and this reduced the problem. Really I need to fit new bellows – but as the rest of the camera is a bit worn it wouldn’t make economic sense compared to buying another in better condition.

Mendip-Snow-ThorntonPickard-WP-1Mendip-Snow-ThorntonPickard-WP-3Mendip-Snow-ThorntonPickard-WP-5Mendip-Snow-ThorntonPickard-WP-4Mendip-Snow-ThorntonPickard-WP-2

Published by Oldparson.art

A dedicated photographer of the environment, weather, landscape and its inhabitants, I have assembled a collection of awe-inspiring images for this exhibition. Many in colour, but a number in black & white - a medium which suits my love of the dramatic in photography. Starting from these photographs, I have produced linocuts and woodcuts as well as sculptures in wood. Each of these inspired by what is seen on my many walks in the region and beyond. A passionate experimenter, I am enjoying working with antique cameras and alternative photographic processes to make images that are more about conveying feeling, emotion, memory than they are about being a pixel perfect record of a moment in in time.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started